Day 2: 1 April

(Programme for day 1.)

9:00 - 12:30

Theme 3 Sustainability and good practices

Chair: H.E. Coletha U. Ruhamya, Minister of State in charge of Energy & Water, Rwanda

09:00 - 10:30

Principles and assessment of hydropower sustainability

Climate Change and Sustainability
Dr. Seleshi Bekele Awulachew
Senior Water Ressources & Climate Specialist, African Climate Policy Center (ACPC)
The Hydropower Sustainability Protocol
Mr. Roger Gill, Vice-President, International Hydropower Association (IHA)
• Mr. David Harrison, The Nature Conservancy, USA (discussant)
• Mr. Israel Phiri, Ministry of Water and Energy, Zambia (discussant)
• Prof. Shi Guoqing, National Research Center for Resettlement, China (discussant)
• Dr. Donal O’Leary, Water Integrity Network, Transparency International (discussant)

10:30 - 11:00 Coffee Break
11:00 - 12:15 Experiences in sustainability
• Mr. Erik Knive, Vice-President, SN Power (Magat, Philippines)
• Mr. Cameron Ironside, Programme Director, IHA (Shardara, Kazakhstan)
• Mr. Abdulhakim Mohammed, Executive Officer, EEPCo (Gibe I, Ethiopia)
• Mrs. Matseliso Moremoholo, Environmental Sub-Commitee Chair, SAPP

Discussion led by Mr. Richard Taylor, Executive Director, IHA
12:30 - 13:30 Lunch Break
13:30 - 15:30

Theme 4: Finance and Investments

Financing for a Sustainable Development
Mr. Solomon Asfaw, Senior Energy Officer, African Development Bank

Benefit-sharing of Hydropower Development in the Great Lakes Region
Mr. Kurt Simonsen, Head of Regional Representation, European Investment Bank

Private financing: public-private partnerships and build-operate-transfer schemes
Mr. Huang Bao Dong, Vice President, Sinohydro Group Limited

Multilateral financing
Mr. Raihan Elahi, Energy Specialist, The World Bank, Ethiopia

Discussion led by Mr. Mario Finis, Vice-President, MWH Global

15:30 - 16:00 Coffee Break
16:00 - 17:00

Closing Session and Presentation of the Recommendations

Chair: H.E. Elham M.A. Ibrahim, Commissionner for Infrastructure & Energy, AUC

Concluding remarks
H.E. Alemayehu Tegenu, Minister of Water and Energy, Ethiopia