Day 1: 31 March

(Programme for day 2.)

9:30 - 10:30

Opening Session
Host and co-hosts share their views on the development of sustainable hydropower in Africa and the challenges ahead.

H.E. Abdoullie Janneh
Executive Secretary
UN-Economic Commission for Africa (ECA)

H.E. Elham M.A. Ibrahim
Commissioner for Infrastructure & Energy

African Union Commission (AUC)

H.E. Alemayehu Tegenu
Minister for Water and Energy

Conference Guest of Honour:
H.E. Meles Zenawi
Prime Minister

10:30 - 11:15 Coffee Break
11:15 - 13:00

Theme 1: Africa’s renewable energy potential and hydropower development in Ethiopia

Chair: H.E. Wondimu Tekle, Minister of State for Water and Energy

  • Mr. Jasper Oduor, Executive Secretary, Eastern African Power Pool (EAPP)
  • Dr. Hussein Elhag, Executive Director, African Energy Commission (AFREC)
  • Mr. Mihiret Debebe, CEO, Ethiopian Electric Power Company (EEPCo)
  • H.E. Kamal Ali Mohamed, Minister for Irrigation and Water Resources, Sudan
13:00 - 14:00 Lunch Break
•  Poster Presentation: Renewable Energy in Africa
•  Poster Presentation: Hydropower in Ethiopia
14:00 - 17:30

Theme 2: Regional cooperation for water and energy

Chair: H.E. Salvador Namburete, Minister of Energy, Mozambique

14:00 - 14:45

Overviews from Africa

  • Mr. Philippe Niyongabo, Head of Energy Division, AUC
  • Prof. Mosad Elmissiry, Energy Led, NEPAD
  • Mr. Vika di Panzu, Directeur de Cabinet, Ministry of Energy, DR Congo
14:45 - 15:30

Perspectives on regional cooperation: Power Systems

  • Mr. Nils Ole Kristensen, Senior Advisor, Statnett (Experience from Europe)
  • Mr. Zelalem Gebrehiwot, Executive Secretariat, EAPP
  • Mr. Johnson Maviya, Env.Officer, Southern African Power Pool (SAPP)
15:30 - 15:45 Discussion
15:45 - 16:15 Coffee Break
16:15 - 17:15

Perspectives on regional cooperation: River basins

  • Dr. Ahmed Khalid, Executive Director, ENTRO (Nile Basin)
  • Ms. Grania R, Rubomboras, Regional Project Manager, NELSAP (Nile Basin)
  • Mr. Miguel A. Zydan Soria, Ombudsman, Itaipu Binacional, Brazil / Paraguay
  • Mr. Saloum Cissé, Director General, SOGEM (OMVS)
  • Mr. William Sam-Appiah, Director, Engineering Services, Volta River Authority
17:15 - 17:30


Discussion led by Mr. Torstein Dale Sjøtveit, CEO, Sarawak Energy , Malaysia

17:45 - 19:45 Roundtable on Conference Recommendations (invited participants)
20:00 - 21:30 Conference Banquet, sponsored by Sinohydro